The Official KSAND Kent Sandvik Web Site

Producer, guitar player, composer and maker of noise.

BioWaves 009

Posted on | January 1, 2008 | 3 Comments

BioWaves 009In this episode, jazz-inspired tech house, simple scales, wacko productions, sinus wave techno and much more.

Dieb’s Wandschrank starts with drum-machine improvisations on a tech house track. Leonid’s When vithco is played continues with tribal-influenced melodies. This leads to the strange section; first Choeny’s Subbasal which is an exercise in strange delay minimalism, and from this to q’s bobo which even Frank Zappa would be proud of.

Craig Mcwhinney’s Gold Rush is a solid techno house tune with a very ambient sound. Then Heiko Mor with Toploader continues with an minimalist melody track. This then leads to Mandy Jordan’s Man at Gobi, a techno/minimalist track with a very describing name of the sound.

Denoize’s Take Time is like a political electro manifesto. Skitish and the track Perplexity then continues with the steady upbuild of the energy, leading to Juno6 and Salamis, a very intriguing use of a simple wave pulse with all kinds of variations. This is then continued with Moshimoshi’s track Taxi bus, where various patterns are cross-related.

Next is Nick Zero and Schlummertrunk with a sound that resembles film track music from the future. James Hammer and Gain An Hour then adds more energy to the overall build-up, which is then ended with a section of more chilled music, starting with Sumergido’s Embalse, William Field’s The Ruby-Leif and finally closing with Modul and Complete, where from a big set of excellent remixes I picked up the Madstyle remix.

BioWaves 009 Track Listing:

  1. Dieb – Wandschrank (David Labeij rework) [Redevice rdv002]
  2. Leonid – When vithco is played [Tropic tropic45]
  3. Choenyi – Subbasal [Underlabel UNDNET004]
  4. q’s – bobo [Stigae Music sti-l-p 005]
  5. Craig Mcwhinney – Gold Rush [Unfound unfound34]
  6. Heiko Mor – Toploader [Debun debun13]
  7. Mandy Jordan – Man at Gobi [Harry Klein Networks 003]
  8. Denoize – Take Time (Original Mix) [Insectorama insectorama.018]
  9. Skitish – Perplexity [Miniatura miniatura013]
  10. Juno6 – Salamis [One Bit Wonder Veinticinco #025]
  11. Moshimoshi – Taxi bus [PANet PN03]
  12. Nick Zero – Schlummertrunk (Wolke7 mix) [Tooltech Records ttr007]
  13. James Hammer – Gain an Hour [Dobox Recordings DBDF033]
  14. Sumergido – Embalse (Scaff Remix) [YukiYaki YKYK007]
  15. William Fields – The Ruby-Leif [Kikapu kpu108]
  16. Modul – Complete (Madstyle Remix) [Phonocake PHOKE46]

Download by right-clicking (Mac users, control-click) on this link.


3 Responses to “BioWaves 009”

  1. Aleksey Gureiev
    February 3rd, 2008 @ 8:22 AM

    Hi Kent,

    I found your blog / podcast through your signature under a post on, and… I’m glued to my headphones since then.

    The first episode of BioWaves was 010 and now I’m getting the earlier versions. Just finished listening this (009) mix and am under impression…

    I’m an amateur minimalist musician and this minimal techno episode gave me some serious food for though and inspiration.

    Keep up good job!

    P.S.: Yes, and I enjoy your thoughtful posts too. Both parts combined is a bomb.

  2. Kent Sandvik
    February 4th, 2008 @ 10:25 AM

    Thanks! I’m a little bit late with the latest episode — been playing somewhat more ‘live’ music with other musicians that I expected in January. Will fix it now ASAP.

  3. heiko mor
    February 21st, 2008 @ 5:11 AM

    hi kent, it´s nice to see that you placed a track of me in your mix!
    thank you for support, you do a great job!
    keep up the good work…

    heiko mor

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.


This is an area on your website where you can add text. This will serve as an informative location on your website, where you can talk about your site.

Subscribe to our feed